Castellan Family Fencing Center - Men's & Women's Fencing

fenc_9

In fall of 2012, Notre Dame's Fencing program was blessed with a new, modern facility with the gift of Patrick (class of '68) and Concetta Castellan, whose two sons, Matt (2001-04) and Chris (2004-05) both competed with the team in their years at Notre Dame. "You have to have a good enough program to make the investment that's reflected here today, and this isn't a good program - this is a spectacular program," Athletic Director Jack Swarbrick said at the venue's dedication. "It's proof of the concept that you can be great students and great student-athletes at the same time." The Castellan Family Fencing Center features separate men's, women's and coaches' locker rooms, an armory repair room, team lounge and kitchen area, an enclosed conference room and individual coaches offices. Built around the old Joyce hockey rink in the North Dome of the Joyce Athletic Convocation Center, past trophies and awards are also displayed by the entrance into the arena. In addition to displays detailing former NCAA Champions and All-Americans, a banner recognizing Notre Dame's eight NCAA Championship victories hangs over 15 strips. The Center played host to the 2013 and 2014 Midwest Fencing Conference (MFC) championships, as well as the 2013 NCAA Midwest Regional Qualifier.

Men's & Women's Fencing Contacts Name Office Number: 574-631- Email
Head Coach Gia Kvaratskhelia 4840 gkvarats@nd.edu
Assistant Coach - Epee  Cedric Loiseau 6820 cloiseau@nd.edu
Associate Coach - Sabre Samir Ibrahimov 3599 sibrahi1@nd.edu
Volunteer Assistant Madison Zeiss 3494 madison.e.zeiss.2@nd.edu
Volunteer Assitant Keith Feldman   kfeldman@nd.edu
Director of Operations  Alexander Buell 1445 abuell@nd.edu
Fighting Irish Media  Joanne Norell 3397  jnorell@nd.edu
Athletic Trainer Chantal Porter 7100 cporter1@nd.edu
Marketing Conor Montijo  1211 cmontijo@nd.edu
Team Administrator Maureen McNamara 7362 mmcnamar@nd.edu