Courtney Tennis Center

Courtney Tennis

Notre Dame's Courtney Tennis Center, the home of Irish men's tennis since its construction in 1967 and women's tennis since the establishment of the varsity program in 1980, has played host to the nation's top players on a number of occasions, while becoming an extremely difficult place for opposing teams to win.

Due to its exceptional facilities, Notre Dame has played host to a number of prestigious events, including serving as the national site of the NCAA Championships three times.

The home of Irish tennis for nearly 40 years, the construction of the Courtney Tennis Center was financed entirely by prominent Washington D.C., attorney Jeremiah Courtney. The numerous courts and laykold surface make it a popular spot for students and faculty, as well as the varsity tennis teams. Courtney is a 1932 graduate of Columbia University, where he captained the tennis team. His two sons attended Notre Dame and played tennis under legendary coach Tom Fallon.

The first home of the Irish tennis team was the Notre Dame Fieldhouse, which played host to Irish home matches until the Courtney Center was built. The structure was razed in 1983. Indoor courts in Notre Dame's Joyce Center also were used sporadically before the Eck Tennis Pavilion's construction.

 

Men's Tennis Contacts Name Office Phone: 574-631- Email
Head Coach Ryan Sachire 4841 rsachir1@nd.edu
Associate Head Coach Adam Schaechterle 6113 aschaech@nd.edu
Volunteer Assistant Coach Cris James   cris.d.james.67@nd.edu
Fighting Irish Media  Joanne Norell 3397 jnorell@nd.edu
Athletic Trainer Tony Sutton 3303 asutton@nd.edu
Facility Manager Bobby Bayliss 6113 rbayliss@nd.edu
Marketing Conor Montijo 1211 cmontijo@nd.edu
Team Administrator Dan Skendzel 2454 dskendze@nd.edu

 

Women's Tennis Contacts Name Office Phone: 574-631- Emai
Head Coach Jay Louderback 5149 jlouderb@nd.edu
Assistant Coach Catrina Thompson 3730 cthomps7@nd.edu
Fighting Irish Media  Joanne Norell 3397 jnorell@nd.edu
Athletic Trainer Steve Smith 7100 ssmith28@nd.edu
Facility Manager Bobby Bayliss 6113 rbayliss@nd.edu
Marketing Conor Montijo  1211 cmontijo@nd.edu
Team Administrator Heidi Uebelhor 2237 heidi.m.uebelhor.3@nd.edu