Frank Eck Stadium - Baseball

frank_eck_baseball_stadium

Upon its opening in 1994, the 2,500-seat stadium became the latest jewel among Notre Dame's ever-expanding athletic facilities. Located on the southeast corner of campus, Eck Stadium has become quite friendly to the Irish. Notre Dame has posted a 387-125-2 mark (for a .755 winning percentage) over the stadium's 19-year history.

Eck Stadium includes spacious home and visitor locker-room areas, meeting rooms and coaching facilities for each team. The stadium also houses a beautiful press box overlooking home plate and the 2,500-seat grandstand. The stadium is illuminated by a state-of-the-art lighting system, allowing for night play.

A brand-new, state of the art amber LED board with full color 48" by 256" LED screen was installed in August of 2011. The board provides up to three lines of text and can process imported graphics and in-game statistics and display them by a multitude of animated patterns. The board also can display a running clock and serve as a marquee to promote events.

Eck Stadium boasts one of the finest press box facilities in the nation. Located directly behind home plate, the press box can be outfitted to comfortably seat 25 staff and media members. The press box provides a panoramic view of Eck Stadium, in addition to the outlying athletics facilities that feature practice sessions and games involving the Irish football, soccer and lacrosse teams. Other amenities within the press box include a restroom and storage area, plus a series of video monitors that provide real-time game stats and updated season stats for each player as the game progresses. One other addition beginning with the 2001 season was an enclosed radio booth within the press box.

The indoor hitting and pitching facility was completed in time for preseason workouts. The facility — located adjacent to the left field line — includes: wall-to-wall artificial turf floor; three full-length batting tunnels; two regulation clay pitching mounds within the tunnels; a one half-cage with clay home plate area for catchers drills; and an "Iron Mike" pitching machine, with automatic ball feeder and remote control. The 120 x 80 facility includes men's and women's restrooms and a classroom for video analysis. The building is outfitted with complete central air conditioning and heating, plus a lighting setup that matches Major League standards. A final addition is six cardiovascular exercise machines — including two stair masters, three stationary bicycles and a treadmill — which allow maximum conditioning opportunities. The Irish combine use of the indoor facility (for pitching, hitting and catching) with the existing Loftus Center (used primarily for defensive fundamentals and baserunning).

Plans to build the stadium were announced June 7, 1991, thanks to a generous gift to the University by alumnus Frank Eck and his company, Advanced Drainage Systems, Inc., of Columbus, Ohio. Eck was the firm's chairman and chief executive officer. He graduated in 1944 with a degree in chemical engineering. 

Baseball Contacts Name Phone Number: 574-631 Email
Head Coach Mik Aoki 4840 maoki@nd.edu
Assistant Coach Jesse Woods 4840 jwoods4@nd.edu
Assistant Coach Chuck Ristano 4840 cristano@nd.edu
Volunteer Assistant Coach Robert Youngdahl 4840 robert.j.youngdahl.1@nd.edu

Director of Baseball Operations

Kelli Zeese 2775 kzeese@nd.edu
Office Assistant Julie Deschaine 4840 jdeschai@nd.edu
Fighting Irish Media  Michael Scholl 4780 mscholl@nd.edu
Athletic Trainer Scott Stansbury 7100 sstansbu@nd.edu
Facility Manager  TBA TBA TBA
Grounds Manager Ryan Kaspitzke 7962 rkaspitz@nd.edu
Tickets Lee Biglin  8697 lbiglin@nd.edu
Marketing Jasmine Cannady 3589 jcannady@nd.edu
Team Administrator Jody Sadler 6107 sadler.6@nd.edu