Notre Dame Outdoor Track and Field

Notre Dame Outdoor Track

In June 2008 ground was broken for the construction of a new $3 million nine-lane outdoor track complex, with the 2009-10 school year marking the first season of practice in the new facility for the Irish. The new track, located southeast of the Joyce Center, will eventually become a full complex as the school continues to raise money for the building of a $5 million stadium portion of the track, which will be used to play host to outdoor meets in the coming years.

The track meets IAAF guidelines and features the widest possible turns. One synthetic "D" zone is provided at the south end of the track. Throwing and jumping events are located in two directions, and a warm-up area can be found at one end of the track.

Lead gifts for the project came from an anonymous benefactor, as well as six named Notre Dame supporters: John Hatherly '82, who ran track for the Irish as a miler; Dr. Bob Harris '69, a chemistry major who played intramural football and has participated in Notre Dame's Football Fantasy Camp; Dr. Jim ’79, a Monogram winner for the Notre Dame track team; John Leahy ’84, who continues the Leahy athletic legacy at Notre Dame; Mike Lukas ’79 MA, whose daughter, Katherine, graduated Notre Dame in 2012; and Rick Peltz, a South Bend/Indianapolis business man.

Track and Field Contacts Name Office Number: 574-631- Email
Head Coach Alan Turner 4871 aturner@nd.edu
Associate Head Coach, Distance Matt Sparks 1219 msparks@nd.edu
Assistant Coach, Throws Adam Beltran 9982 abeltran@nd.edu
Assistant Coach, Field Events Jim Garnham 1694 jgarnham@nd.edu
Assistant Coach, Sprints/Hurdles/Jumps Pristina Jones 5418  
Assistant Coach, Recruiting/Men's Distance/Steeplechase Sean Carlson 8491 scarlso2@nd.edu
Operations Specialist  Molly Jergenson 6322 mjergens@nd.edu
Fighting Irish Media  Megan Golden 2664 mgolden@nd.edu
Athletic Trainer Tony Sutton 7100 asutton@nd.edu
Marketing  TBA TBA TBA
Grounds Manager Ryan Kaspitzke 7962 rkaspitz@nd.edu
Facility Manager Jordon Haitsma 7801 jhaitsma@nd.edu
Team Administrator Reggie Brooks 0446 rbrooks2@nd.edu