Notre Dame Track & Field Stadium

Notre Dame Outdoor Track

In June 2008 ground was broken for the construction of a new $3 million nine-lane outdoor track complex, with the 2009-10 school year marking the first season of practice in the new facility for the Irish. The new track, located southeast of the Joyce Center, will eventually become a full complex as the school continues to raise money for the building of a $5 million stadium portion of the track, which will be used to play host to outdoor meets in the coming years.

The track meets IAAF guidelines and features the widest possible turns. One synthetic "D" zone is provided at the south end of the track. Throwing and jumping events are located in two directions, and a warm-up area can be found at one end of the track.

Lead gifts for the project came from an anonymous benefactor, as well as six named Notre Dame supporters: John Hatherly '82, who ran track for the Irish as a miler; Dr. Bob Harris '69, a chemistry major who played intramural football and has participated in Notre Dame's Football Fantasy Camp; Dr. Jim ’79, a Monogram winner for the Notre Dame track team; John Leahy ’84, who continues the Leahy athletic legacy at Notre Dame; Mike Lukas ’79 MA, whose daughter, Katherine, graduated Notre Dame in 2012; and Rick Peltz, a South Bend/Indianapolis businessman.

Track and Field Contacts Name Office Number: 574-631- Email
Hatherly-Piane Head Track & Field Coach Matt Sparks 1219 msparks@nd.edu
Assistant Coach, Women's Distance Kendra Foley   kfoley6@nd.edu
Assistant Coach, Throws Adam Beltran 9982 abeltran@nd.edu
Assistant Coach, Hurdles, Pole Vault, High Jump & Multi Events Rodney Zuyderwyk 1694 rzuyderw@nd.edu
Assistant Coach, Sprints/Hurdles/Jumps Wayne Pate 5418 wpate2@nd.edu
Assistant Coach, Cross Country  Sean Carlson 8491 scarlso2@nd.edu
Director of Operations Cody Brousek  6322 cbrousek@nd.ed
Fighting Irish Media  Matt Paras 9471 mparas1@nd.edu
Athletic Trainer   7100  
Grounds Manager Ryan Kaspitzke 7962 rkaspitz@nd.edu
Facility Manager Jordon Haitsma 7801 jhaitsma@nd.edu
Team Administrator Reggie Brooks 6107 rbrooks2@nd.edu